The Lady Freyja, Brisingamen, Ivaldi and me…

So, it seems that it all began some months back when I look at it from this point….  Freyja’s wending her way into my view that is….  My attention was brought back to Her when someone I knew was angered by song lyrics of all things.  Claimed that these lyrics were “An insult to her Goddess”.  The lyrics in question were simple, in fact they were almost exact to the lore but for the fact that it was put to music.  I simply couldn’t make sense of it unless one was calling the lore an insult.  But, whatever… she was offended, I was intrigued but I left it lie, it was irrelevant but for it bringing my attention to Freyja…

Not much later I decided to have the etsy store critiqued and there set about making some pretty major changes.  Among them was the name.  We wanted to honor and reflect our heathen faith as well as embody certain beneficial concepts that were in line with our feelings about our craft and what we want to achieve with the shop. Well into my head popped Andvaris hoard – NOT a good name when trying to generate sales!  NO CURSES PLEASE! but it sparked a thought, and a message.  The Lady said to dig deeper, deeper down into the unfertile soil, deeper down the spiral, there plant the seed the dew will feed it and flourish.  Then Rob said to reread Volunds Lay in the Eddas.  So I did, and that is where it took me…..  Into the dark world of the Dwarves and their craft.

But the thing is that as I was being given that message from The Lady I heard the word Brisingamen whispered in my ear.  Then the message was that I was thinking of the necklace of gold.  The tears were the gift of it all though.  so I listened, and was told to make what my interpretation of Brisingamen is for this world to see, to use my craft and skill, to use what has passed from the Sons of Ivaldi into the craftspeople, the metal workers to create this thing of beauty.  Naturally I ask myself why? why is this work given to me?  and much like the first whisper I hear “because you can, even if you don’t know it yet”.

So, I looked for amber – untreated in any way – NOT an easy thing to find! and found it in Lithuania.  And I ordered the other supplies I knew I would need – rings… brass bronze, and copper – some in square wire.  The amber is in 3 colors, the centerpiece is a teardrop shaped Apatite.

The work begun at 12:33am 12/22/11 as the sun moved into Capricorn and was completed 1 week later

Image

The Lady Freyja, Brisingamen, Ivaldi and me…

2 thoughts on “The Lady Freyja, Brisingamen, Ivaldi and me…

  1. Beth says:

    This is gorgeous; really great work!

Leave a Reply

