On loyalty and faith

So, there is a group I’m in (gee imagine that) where one member of the group is driving virtually the entire group batshit with her godhopping BS (at least from what I can tell…..

the complaint is _________ has deserted  me AGAIN about a host of gods or some variation of that.  And she claims to be ‘tired of reading the same thing over and over….

Ok my take on faith….  Its FAITH!!!!  Just because you don’t have your patron or matron god/dess ion your ear buzzing every moment of the day  (or for that matter week) doesn’t mean you have been deserted!.  MOST people do not have an ongoing diatribe with deity.

faith

[feyth]

noun

1.confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.

2.belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.

3.belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religionthe firm faith of the Pilgrims.

4.belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.

5.a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.

faith  [feyth]  Show IPA

Part of Speech:            noun

Definition:       trust in something

Synonyms:       acceptance, allegiance, assent, assurance, belief, certainty, certitude, confidence, constancy, conviction, credence, credit, credulity, dependence, faithfulness, fealty, fidelity, hope, loyalty, reliance, stock, store, sureness, surety, troth, truth, truthfulness

Now those are dictionary and thesaurus entries but let me give you my personal view of faith…

Faith is the thing that says don’t give up even when you have no tangible evidence that what you believe in is really there.  In fact for me faith is powerfully connected to the intangible things, much more so than the things that are tangible.

Now lets put the shoe on the opposite foot….  Say YOU are the God/dess in question….  Are you (having millions of devotees) going to be hanging about with the person that complains constantly about what you want from them and whines about being deserted?  REALLY?  Noe in general as a human when we are pissed off with someone we stop hanging out with them.  Why wouldn’t a deity be the same way?  I mean in this case we are talking about NORSE GODS!  These are not fluffy bunny gods, they demand our troth our ownership of our deeds and most importantly (to me anyhow) they demand out faith not crumble with a simple breath of air.

But also the thing that really gets me is this.  I will always totally support anyone’s personal search for truth.  ALWAYS, but in order to find that truth you can’t just give up on finding it whenever the wind blows the opposite direction.  becasue when you do that you will NEVER find it….

4 thoughts on “On loyalty and faith

  1. naiadis says:

    Between this, and Beth’s experiences of late, I don’t know. I’m hesitant to say something like, “this is WRONG” because people need to go through the crap they need to go through, but it baffles me so very much. Yes, I’ve gone to people for advice at times, but it’s interspersed with my own questing and seeking and putting in the effort. The burden of carrying the relationship (whatever form that relationship takes) in THIS, our mortal world, is on ME. Accepting what my gods are offering me rests on me, having faith in Them, in Their interests in me, in my worth because They Say So, is on me. It’s not on the people providing oracles, it’s not on my religious peers, it’s not on the elders who have gone before, it’s not even on my gods and spirits — it’s on ME. It’s my responsibility.

    There’s no short-cut for growing comfortable carrying that burden. Other people can’t do it for you. I don’t understand why anyone would even *want* someone to do that *for* them. That’s being a spectator in your own life. . .

    • Leikin says:

      That is it precisely. The person in question starts at least half of her posts with “anyone with a godphone……” Yes I do mean that literally. and in the span of oh, two weeks she went from….

      Loki has deserted me AGAIN
      Odin loves me now Screw Loki
      I think I saw an Angel in my kitchen last night
      I think I’m going back to my childhood church to love Jesus AND Loki
      Loki wants me to masturbate for Him is that weird
      Loki deserted me I’m putting my things away
      I bought a marvel Loki collection and put it on my altar
      Loki deserted me and ignores me
      Loki wants me as his godspouse
      why does Loki want me as his godspouse
      I’m not going to be Lokis Godspouse since He ignores me all of the time
      annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd finally
      I put all my norse altar stuff away becuase they all ignore me and i hate being ignored

      in two weeks….

      I’m not doing the work for anyone that doesnt care enough to do it themselves and I am seeing a good many people expect everyone else to do this for them.

      THat is what prompted the whole post …

      well that and Him Ranting that I needed too 🙂

      THank you SO much for your input!

  2. Hyaena says:

    If this person had not blocked me for PMing her a ‘Please cut the horseshit’ message… I would have blocked her the moment the White Christ got brought into the same sentence with Loki. WTFBBQ??!

Leave a Reply

