An Artists rant

for me, it begins with an idea, whether it is an idea that someoen asks if i can do or an idea that is from ‘nowhere’.

See the idea goes from mind/spirit energy to physical energy.  when it comes to the physical part that involves materials… gemstones, metal etc.  when i craft somethign for my shop its because i have the required materials avaialbel  and have them ready to be used and for sale.  Understand that currently Sterling wire – which is the bulk of what i work with – is running around 60.00 per ounce of wire – which is about 12 feet of 18g wire.  that sounds liek a lot of wire when you are talkign abotu jewelry, but its not… Really its not.

I’m at the mercy of the silver market and well that just sucks.  but anyhow I have the metal on hand to do things for sale right away.  Unless I get diverted to other things liek customorders and weekends away.

Now I have always been flexible on payment and terms with my work but honestly with market prices i cannot afford that now.  in the last 2 months i have had no less than 6 people request specifics and then either not give me a deposit, not pay for it at all.  this leaves me with a supply shortage and becuase I sunk money ionto their projects “RIGHT NOW” I no longer havethe funds avaialable in my bank account.  This time its the inability to restock in time for an event and that sux mightily but its at least not teh difference in eatig or not liek it can be froe some.

Bottom line here….  you can ask me to craft soemthign for you anytime

but unless you at LEAST give me supply cost UP FRONT I’m going to laugh you out the door…

7 thoughts on “An Artists rant

  1. naiadis says:

    This is one of those things that I’m baffled has to be even said at all. Yet, I’ve seen Beth go through this to wind up with that decision, too. Why, why oh why do we not take art and creativity seriously? Art and textiles are what makes us human, are the bedrocks of our civilization.

    This is the decision to make. Good for you!

  2. Agreed 100%. I don’t ask to commission things unless I have the money in hand for it.

  3. Beth says:

    Oh wow do I ever know how this feels! I am currently not asking for deposits in advance for my fiber work, but only because I know I can easily put someone’s special order for sale in my shop if they neglect to pay…

  4. Leikin says:

    yeah not so easy for custom silver and gemstone work

    unfortunately

Leave a Reply

